How I get out of bed in the morning: top 5 tips

Business, L&D, Leadership, Management, mental health, workplace

Now the mornings are getting cold and dark, you might need more help than usual getting out of bed. Here are the top 5 things that help me to get out of bed and acting like a functional adult, especially when I’m feeling down. Let me know if you have any tips!

  1. Set a good alarm tone. This is so important for me, I don’t want to be woken up by something shrill and urgent. That is a recipe for annoyance and grump. Something upbeat that won’t frighten the life out of you when it comes on at 7am. Don’t annoy yourself before you’ve even given your *colleagues the opportunity to do it for you.
  2. Set a motivational message as your alarm. A friend of mine has, “if Frodo can get to Mordor, you can get out of bed”, as the text that accompanies her jazzy alarm tone. If we think about the trials and tribulations of poor Frodo, it can really put getting up for work into perspective.
  3. Create an inspirational play list to get ready to. If you’re feeling down in the dumps, it’s always best to avoid The Smiths and instead err towards the styles of Destiny’s Child. Many a morning I’ve gotten myself out of bed trying to be the type of woman Beyoncé wants me to be, because I’m a survivor. NB, if you have a significant other that works different hours to you, it might be best to use headphones or singledom can ensue.
  4. The 5 minute rule. If the thought of getting out of bed, caffeinated, dressed and into work feels like an insurmountable task, try breaking down tasks into manageable 5 minute slots. This can help with the feelings of being overwhelmed that in my experience accompany low mood/ Mondays.
  5. My reward for getting out of bed and into the office (other than my monthly wage) is a jolly nice cup of Nespresso coffee each morning. My coffee machine changed my life, and each morning my world is set on fire anew with a delicious cup of coffee. Thanks to a handy travel mug my mum bought me, I also get to have one of these treats in the car on the way to work too! If it’s good enough for George Clooney, it’s good enough for me – that’s my motto anyway.

Go on, get out of that bed – you can do it!

*My colleagues are lovely and don’t annoy me at all.

Leave a comment