L&D In Uganda #ConnectingHRAfrica

Africa, Business, Charity, HR, L&D, Leadership, Management, teamwork, values, Volunteer, workplace

uganda

Now that I’m back in the UK I feel that I’m much more able to reflect on my time in Kampala volunteering with the charity Retrak. I’ve got huge respect and admiration for my companions who blogged during their experience, but I didn’t feel emotionally able to at the time. So here goes…

Part of the reason why we went to Africa was to utilise our HR & L&D skills to train and coach the staff who work at the children’s centres in Kampala for Retrak. Centre managers, social workers, counsellors, programme leaders, volunteers and so on. It was a truly humbling experience to be able to, in some small way, help those incredible staff members to feel valued, supported, cared for and listened to. These are people who are truly dedicated to improving the lives of vulnerable children. Children who are homeless, abused, frightened and alone. Can you imagine how much resilience, passion and determination it takes to continue to deliver excellence to these children day in and day out? I’m going to cover more about the amazing work they do in my next blog.

We did sessions with the intact teams who worked together in each centre. One day I co-facilitated on a session around resilience, teamwork, communication and pacing. We always offered follow-up 1:1 coaching sessions should they wish to continue talking to us on an individual basis. Below is a picture of me and my wonderful coachee Juliette:

coachee.jpg

Juliette is one of the amazing social workers at the girl’s centre. We also ran a day’s programme for the head office staff. My topics were on communication, respect, values and leadership.

I’m not sure I’ve ever had such an attentive and appreciative audience.

I was also struck by the universal nature of problems in the workplace. Some of our participants were telling us about their issues assuming that they were due to the cultural differences of Uganda – but I can tell you, from having worked with organisations all over EMEA – we all experience the same problems and gripes as one and other. Some at a more extreme level than others, sure. Ultimately though, we all want to be and to have high performing teams, effective leadership, we want our staff to live and breathe our values, we want commitment and motivation, we want engagement, respect, diversity and resilience. I can say unequivocally that ALL of the Retrak staff that I met were high performing, dedicated and inspiring.

Ultimately I was left feeling like I want and need to do more for these wonderful people. If you’re interested in finding out what you can do to help them too then please get in touch. There must be more!

Here is the rest of the wonderful team I facilitated with:

The team.jpg

Please remember that it is not too late to donate too!

Maybe it is time for a move…

Leave a Reply

